# **Berks County Fire Services Working Group**

# January 23, 2025

Officers: Chair Colin Hackman, Vice Chair Chris Schaeffer, Secretary Blair Miller

Meeting was called to order at 1802 hours. There were no additions or corrections to the previous months minutes, they stand approved as read.

#### Attendance:

Zone 1: Jesiah Newsome, Josh Young

Zone 2: Rusty Wagner, Blair Miller

Zone 3: Bob Martin

Zone 4: Colin Hackman, Lance Parmer

Zone 5&6: Brian Sierocinski

Zone 7: Tom Kemery, Andrew Getka

**BCFA:** Roger Weidenheimer

**BCFT:** No one in attendance

**BCFPA:** No one in attendance

Forestry: No one in attendance

DES: Brian Gottschall, Mike Smith, Matt Stairiker, Christina Wood, Philip Salamone

Additional Attendance: Scot Landis, Justin Kiebach, Chad Moyer, Kyle Moyer

**Communications:** DCNR William Penn Forest District new contact is Greg Reese. Fire Police Association

of Berks County new contacts are Greg Moll and Todd Muiznieks.

**Zone 1:** Jesiah Newsome reported Zone 1 is working on an accountability SOG.

**Zone 2:** Blair Miller reported Zone 2 had nothing to report.

**Zone 3:** Bob Martin reported Zone 3 had nothing to report.

**Zone 4:** Chair Hackman extended his thanks to DES and Dispatcher Shuman for monitoring the operations talkgroup and catching a Mayday at an incident.

**Zone 5 & 6:** Brian Sierocinski reported Zone 5/6 had nothing to report. Brian advised Vice Chair Schaeffer to have issues logging into the Teams Meeting. It was advised to delete the app and re-install it.

**Zone 7:** Andrew Getka reported progress on the changes submitted at the December meeting.

**BCFA:** Roger Weidenheimer reported their meeting will be held Saturday January 25, at 1400 hours at the BCFTC. Roger reported Hereford Fire Company has requested to be moved from Zone 6 to Zone 1 which will be voted on at the January 25, meeting and if approved will take effect in February. Director Gottschall reminded Roger that there are CAD ramifications with a Zone change, specifically reprogramming pagers for the appropriate Zone all calls.

**BCFT:** No Attendance / Report

**BCFPA:** No Attendance / Report

Forestry: No Attendance / Report

**DES:** An extensive discussion regarding QRS dispatching was led by Director Gottschall. DES will be moving to GPS based dispatching for second due or greater, based off the Station locations. There will no longer be second, third, etc. due in CAD and it will be transitioned to a timed method of dispatching QRS:

First Due – 0 Minutes

Second Due – 10 Minutes

Third Due – 20 Minutes

Fourth Due – 30 Minutes

Fifth Due – 45 Minutes

Additional discussion from Zone 1, requested to add a 15 Minute option. Director Gottschall reported that if approved Departments can change QRS run cards, or DES can modify them to reflect their current due order options based off the times listed above.

Chair Hackman requested a vote to proceed with the recommended changes to include the 15 Minute option. All Zones voted in favor with the exception of Zone 1, which advised they would provide a yes or no answer by next week. QRS Changes approved, and DES will engage with Departments if the need arises.

Director Gottschall reported ILS changes are forthcoming which have been reviewed by the EMS Working Group and Medical Directors. This will create two new call types: ILS-Medical and ILS-Trauma.

Director Gottschall reported a push from EMS for imminent childbirth to have 2 ALS units dispatched.

### **Old Business:**

Tax Credit Sub-Committee – No updates

Chair Hackman opened nomination for the 2025 FSWG Officers:

Chair: Colin Hackman, Vice Chair: Chris Schaeffer, Secretary: Blair Miller. All Zones voted in favor.

DES is still working on the Excel format for run cards.

### **New Business:**

Chair Hackman reminded the group to provide any new delegates and contact update for FSWG members.

The next FSWG meeting will be Thursday March 27, 2025, at 1800 hours via TEAMS

There being no further business to come forth, Chair Hackman adjourned the meeting at 1911 hours.

Respectfully Submitted,

Colin D. Hackman